BMW Championship Winners 1899-2024

The BMW Championship is one of the FedEx Cup playoff tournament events on the PGA Tour. It was founded in 2007 and was previously called the Western Open. In 2012, 2013, and 2014 seasons were known as the BMW Championship and tournament of the year.

Who won the BMW Championship in 2023?

Viktor Hovland won the BMW Championship in 2023.

A Complete list of BMW Championship winners:

YearsWinners NameMargin of
ScoreTo parRunner(s)-upWinner’s
share ($)
2023Viktor Hovland2 strokes263-17Matt Fitzpatrick
Scottie Scheffler
2022Patrick Cantlay (2)1 stroke270−14Scott Stallings2,700,00015,000,000
2021Patrick CantlayPlayoff261−27Bryson DeChambeau1,710,0009,500,000
2020Jon RahmPlayoff276−4Dustin Johnson1,710,0009,500,000
2019Justin Thomas3 strokes263−25Patrick Cantlay1,665,0009,250,000
2018Keegan BradleyPlayoff260−20Justin Rose1,620,0009,000,000
2017Marc Leishman5 strokes261−23Rickie Fowler
Justin Rose
2016Dustin Johnson (2)3 strokes265−23Paul Casey1,530,0008,500,000
2015Jason Day6 strokes262−22Daniel Berger1,485,0008,250,000
2014Billy Horschel2 strokes266−14Bubba Watson1,440,0008,000,000
2013Zach Johnson2 strokes268−16Nick Watney1,440,0008,000,000
2012Rory McIlroy2 strokes268−20Phil Mickelson
Lee Westwood
2011Justin Rose2 strokes271−13John Senden1,440,0008,000,000
2010Dustin Johnson1 stroke275−9Paul Casey1,350,0007,500,000
2009Tiger Woods (5)8 strokes265−19Jim Furyk
Marc Leishman
2008Camilo Villegas2 strokes265−15Dudley Hart1,260,0007,000,000
2007Tiger Woods (4)2 strokes262−22Aaron Baddeley1,260,0007,000,000

Western Open Winners: List of past champions 2006-1989

YearWinnerMargin of
To parScoreRunner(s)-up
2006Trevor Immelman2 strokes−13271Mathew Goggin
Tiger Woods
2005Jim Furyk2 strokes−14270Tiger Woods
2004Stephen Ames2 strokes−10274Steve Lowery
2003Tiger Woods (3)5 strokes−21267Rich Beem
2002Jerry Kelly2 strokes−19269Davis Love III
2001Scott Hoch1 stroke−21267Davis Love III
2000Robert AllenbyPlayoff−14274Nick Price
1999Tiger Woods (2)3 strokes−15273Mike Weir
1998Joe Durant2 strokes−17271Vijay Singh
1997Tiger Woods3 strokes−13275Frank Nobilo
1996Steve Stricker8 strokes−18270Billy Andrade
Jay Don Blake
1995Billy Mayfair1 stroke−9279Jay Haas
Justin Leonard
Jeff Maggert
Scott Simpson
1994Nick Price (2)1 stroke−11277Greg Kraft
1993Nick Price5 strokes−19269Greg Norman
1992Ben Crenshaw1 stroke−12276Greg Norman
1991Russ Cochran2 strokes−13275Greg Norman
1990Wayne Levi4 strokes−13275Payne Stewart
1989Mark McCumber (2)Playoff−13275Peter Jacobsen
1988Jim Benepe1 stroke−10278Peter Jacobsen
1987D. A. Weibring1 stroke−9207Larry Nelson
Greg Norman
1986Tom KitePlayoff−2286Fred Couples
David Frost
Nick Price
1985Scott Verplank (a)Playoff−9279Jim Thorpe
1984Tom Watson (3)Playoff−8280Greg Norman
1983Mark McCumber1 stroke−4284Tom Watson
1982Tom Weiskopf1 stroke−12276Larry Nelson
1981Ed Fiori4 strokes−11277Jim Colbert
Greg Powers
Jim Simons
1980Scott Simpson5 strokes−7281Andy Bean
1979Larry NelsonPlayoff−2286Ben Crenshaw
1978Andy BeanPlayoff−6282Bill Rogers
1977Tom Watson (2)1 stroke−5283Wally Armstrong
Johnny Miller
1976Al Geiberger1 stroke+4288Joe Porter
1975Hale Irwin1 stroke−1283Bobby Cole
1974Tom Watson2 strokes+3287J. C. Snead
Tom Weiskopf
1973Billy Casper (4)1 stroke−12272Larry Hinson
Hale Irwin
1972Jim Jamieson6 strokes−13271Labron Harris Jr.
1971Bruce Crampton2 strokes−5279Bobby Nichols
1970Hugh Royer Jr.1 stroke−11273Dale Douglass
1969Billy Casper (3)4 strokes−8276Rocky Thompson
1968Jack Nicklaus (2)3 strokes−11273Miller Barber
1967Jack Nicklaus2 strokes−10274Doug Sanders
1966Billy Casper (2)3 strokes−1283Gay Brewer
1965Billy Casper2 strokes−14270Jack McGowan
Chi-Chi Rodríguez
1964Chi-Chi Rodríguez1 stroke−16268Arnold Palmer
1963Arnold Palmer (2)Playoff−4280Julius Boros
Jack Nicklaus
1962Jacky Cupit2 strokes−3281Billy Casper
1961Arnold Palmer2 strokes−13271Sam Snead
1960Stan LeonardPlayoff−10278Art Wall Jr.
1959Mike Souchak1 stroke−8272Arnold Palmer
1958Doug Sanders1 stroke−13275Dow Finsterwald
1957Doug FordPlayoff−5279George Bayer
Gene Littler
Billy Maxwell
1956Mike FetchickPlayoff−4284Doug Ford
Jay Hebert
Don January
1955Cary Middlecoff2 strokes−16272Mike Souchak
1954Lloyd Mangrum (2)Playoff−7277Ted Kroll
1953Dutch Harrison4 strokes−2278Ed Furgol
Fred Haas
Lloyd Mangrum
1952Lloyd Mangrum8 strokes−6274Bobby Locke
1951Marty Furgol1 stroke−10270Cary Middlecoff
1950Sam Snead (2)1 stroke−2282Jim Ferrier
Dutch Harrison
1949Sam Snead4 strokes−20268Cary Middlecoff
1948Ben Hogan (2)Playoff−7281Ed Oliver
1947Johnny Palmer1 stroke−18270Bobby Locke
Ed Oliver
1946Ben Hogan4 strokes−17271Lloyd Mangrum
1942Herman Barron2 strokes−8276Henry Picard
1941Ed Oliver3 strokes−9275Ben Hogan
Byron Nelson
1940Jimmy DemaretPlayoff+9293Toney Penna
1939Byron Nelson1 stroke−2281Lloyd Mangrum
1938Ralph Guldahl (3)7 strokes−5279Sam Snead
1937Ralph Guldahl (2)PlayoffE288Horton Smith
1936Ralph Guldahl3 strokes−10274Ray Mangrum
1935Johnny Revolta4 strokes+6290Willie Goggin
1934Harry CooperPlayoff−14274Ky Laffoon
1933Macdonald Smith (3)6 strokesE282Tommy Armour
1932Walter Hagen (5)1 stroke−1287Olin Dutra
1931Ed Dudley4 strokes−4280Walter Hagen
1930Gene Sarazen7 strokes−10278Al Espinosa
1929Tommy Armour8 strokes−7273Horton Smith
1928Abe Espinosa3 strokes+3291Johnny Farrell
1927Walter Hagen (4)4 strokes−1281Al Espinosa
Bill Mehlhorn
1926Walter Hagen (3)9 strokes−1279Harry Cooper
Gene Sarazen
1925Macdonald Smith (2)6 strokes−7281Leo Diegel
Johnny Farrell
Emmet French
Walter Hagen
Bill Mehlhorn
1924Bill Mehlhorn8 strokes+5293Al Watrous
1923Jock Hutchison (2)6 strokes−3281Bobby Cruickshank
Leo Diegel
Walter Hagen
Joe Kirkwood, Sr.
1922Mike Brady10 strokes+3291Laurie Ayton, Snr
Jock Hutchison
1921Walter Hagen (2)5 strokes+3287Jock Hutchison
1920Jock Hutchison1 stroke+4296Jim Barnes
Clarence Hackney
Harry Hampton
1919Jim Barnes (3)3 strokes+3283Leo Diegel
1917Jim Barnes (2)2 strokes−5283Walter Hagen
1916Walter Hagen1 stroke−2286Jock Hutchison
George Sargent
1915Tom McNamara2 strokes+4304Alex Cunningham
1914Jim Barnes1 stroke−3293Willie Kidd
1913John McDermott7 strokes−1295Mike Brady
1912Macdonald Smith3 strokes+11299Alex Robertson
1911Bobby Simpson (2)2 and 1Tom McNamara
1910Chick Evans (a)6 and 5George Simpson
1909Willie Anderson (4)9 strokes288Stewart Gardner
1908Willie Anderson (3)1 stroke299Fred McLeod
1907Bobby Simpson2 strokes307Willie Anderson
Fred McLeod
1906Alex Smith (2)3 strokes306Jack Hobens
1905Arthur Smith2 strokes278James Maiden
1904Willie Anderson (2)4 strokes304Alex Smith
1903Alex Smith2 strokes318Laurie Auchterlonie
David Brown
1902Willie Anderson5 strokes299Willie Smith
Bert Way
1901Laurie Auchterlonie2 strokes160David Bell
1899Willie SmithPlayoff156Laurie Auchterlonie